Gamify this!

DEFINE GAMIFICATION FOR 10 POINTS!

Gamification: the application of typical elements of game playing (e.g., point scoring, competition with others, rules of play) to other areas of activity, typically as an online marketing technique to encourage engagement with a product or service….

Glass of ice water with lemon slice and straw sitting upon a white napkin on a wooden table

Jon Sullivan/ Wikimedia Commons/ Public Domain

Um, yeah. In short, we add game elements to an activity in order to change behavior. Perhaps we’ll do this to encourage someone to do something they really don’t like doing (like exercise), or we’ll gamify some activities to encourage a better quantity or quality of participation. As an example, let’s gamify this blog post.  Every time you read the word “gamification,” take a drink (ahem, of water). Cheers!

Now, I bet when you think of gamification, you’re still imagining video or computer games. Say you don’t play video games?  No worries- gamification still has a place in your life because it is everywhere.  Take a moment to think where you might have seen gamification in action.

You might think about:

Igor, it’s alive!  We’ll dismantle this monster of a list more in depth during a future post.  However, like any creation, things can go awry- especially if not well designed.

WHY AM I READING THIS BLOG?

This blog will assist you in learning more about gamification and its components.  We’ll highlight good and not so good examples of its application to avoid a franken-gamification-stein. We want good gamification, and we want it now!  We’re going to explore and discuss gamification as a trend, some “how-tos” and debate its future- which involves you!

WATCH A VIDEO: POPCORN TIME!

Extra Credits did a great video to introduce us to gamification, so let’s watch.  When they talk about gamification and it’s use in capitalism, do you think they have a valid point?

And lastly, gamification, gamification, gamification! 10 points to you if you’re on the way to the bathroom.  How many drinks was that?  What was my primary goal in gamifying this blog post, other than providing an example of gamification?  What behavior was encouraged to be modified? Drop in with a comment if you think you’ve got it.  Until next time, go get your game on!

Posted on September 23, 2013, in Gamification and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. Well, first of all, I had to pay closer attention to see how many times I actually saw the word gamification. I see this all the time with television shows. Many late night shows these days have a “word of the day” in order to encourage, ironically enough, drinking! I usually find these things annoying because I am not a drinker but I can imagine that it is very engaging and appropriate for late night viewers.

  2. Gaming is a great way for learning because often, the people participating don’t realize they’re learning! A favorite game of mine is called Bananagrams, which is like Scrabble in that it uses tiles with letters on it and you spell out words in a connected fashion, but the rules are different and each player has their own “playing board.” What I love about this game is that it’s simple, fun, and is excellent for helping people, especially children, improve their vocabulary. In addition, because of the competition factor to be the first to solve their letter puzzle, people often want to play over and over and they never realize they’re learning new words!

    Gaming just makes the most mundane things exciting. I’ll admit that I’ve gone to McDonald’s specifically to play the Monopoly game, and have gone back when I realized I only needed one more piece to win a million dollars. Quite illogical and not very good for my health, I know, but what can I say, gaming is addicting.

  3. Gaming Gaming, yes this is one of many new marketing technicians that help grab the attention of many. Marketers use this gaming took in a very sneaky way that helps create new marketing shares. No matter of age, race or gender everyone likes to play games. Advertisements that Promote WIN, Collect them all, or Vote all are apart of this Gamification. The question now is can we shape our new growing generations to love the thought of education, work, and lifestyle as a game. To achieve and accomplish their goal and purpose to enjoy a better outlook on life?

  4. Never knew that there would actually be a word (gamificiation). Surprisingly enough I have actually used techniques related to gamification to change my target audiences technique without actually knowing that the term exist. Two years ago I use to manage the social media pages for the organization that I was a part of. In order to increase traffic, I created a social media game which awarded the individual who got most of their friends to post on the page. Because of this game, the site received constant visits and increased its fan base by over 150%.

  5. I am in love with playing video games, and I like the idea of gamification. I always knew that gamification existed; I just never knew there was an actual name for it. Gamification transforms tedious or routine tasks through game mechanics into an engaging, and fun leisure activity. An example of gamification in advertising that I love is Nike. I have a Nike app on my phone that rewards me with points for every workout I complete, and with those points, I can get discounts on Nike products or unlock more workout levels. Not only am I motivated to finish my workouts, it makes my workout that much more fun.

  6. Interesting. I never though of this before but what the guy was saying makes sense. Work productivity and the American education system will benefit tremendously. Studies show that productivity increases as job satisfaction increases. Well right now, a lot of jobs are not entertaining in the slightest bit. If we can find a way to make boring tasks more entertaining and challenging, society will have changed for the better.

  7. Before this blog, I had never heard of the term. It is hard to comprehend at first, but then it all comes together. The video does a great job at explaining the concept and the graphics used are very entertaining. I see how marketers can make a use of gamification. Advertising is so clutter that connecting with consumers with gamification campaigns will give any campaign a competitive advantage. Regular mass media doesn’t cut it anymore. It is necessary for companies to develop concepts such as gamification and make it part of there integrated marking communication strategy.

  8. This is so true! Most people either do not do things they don’t enjoy, or at best (or worst perhaps), engage in sub-par quality of work. They don’t take it seriously, or have no true incentive to provide quality work. Whereas when a person gets truly involved or into a game, they not only contribute more, but the actual content of their contribution is higher quality. I can totally understand how gamification of boring, mundane, or unappealing tasks can motivate people into contributing more. After all, human beings are playful creatures according to studies conducted in the past!

  9. Great post. I agree that gamification is becoming a trend on social sites. The idea of using point systems and awarding badges to the most engaged viewers is great way to get people coming back to your site.

    One website I’ve seen that is using the gamification method to get you using its site is https://brandyourself.com/ it gives you an overall score on optimizing your personal presence online.

    This is a growing trend and something everyone who has a blog or website should consider to get more viewers engaged and loyal to your site.

  10. Wow, I never realized how I often I take part in gamification until I read this article. The more I think about it, the more I realize that several times everyday I “fall victim” to gamification techniques that are used by businesses and companies. On one hand, they make my day more enjoyable and can even make mundane tasks fun sometimes. On the other hand though, companies use gamification to their own advantage in order to get people to use the company or to buy into the company or their products. In the end though, it is our own personal decision whether or not to take part in this sly use of gamification and I think that day-to-day I am happier when I do take part.

  11. I really like how I am remembering gamification now! I believe this is a great technique and its used a lot lately, even when we are not aware of it. Encouraging a competition attracts people to do an act, it threats their ego, like this gamification blog, let’s say I did drink one per every word, I would like to make sure I am the one that drinks the most, so it gets me involved and active here.

  12. I agree that gamification is everywhere. I actually never realized because I always associated it with video games and computer games. I don’t play games but I do find that gamification is in other places as well. Marketers use this to attract more people like the examples you gave on frequent flyer miles, a lot of people choose airlines because they can compile points and hopefully one day receive something for them. I have also seen gamification on television shows, for example on “watch what happens live” on the Bravo network the host has a drinking word of the day and every time you hear the word you have to drink. This is a great example of how gamification is all around us.

  13. Education in its simple form is boring and most people loose attention and focus if it’s not within their interest, but when gaming used to teach a subject, then the whole story is different because now it’s fun. When something is fun people pay attention and stay focused for a longer period of time.

  14. It was only within the last 2 weeks of my college education that I’ve come across gamification as a concrete concept. Sure, I’ve noticed “gamification” in the marketing strategies of companies and in user interface features that improve the user experience, but I wasn’t aware of the field as an emerging professional practice or specific area of study. This post is perfect for anyone who has just been introduced to the concept and is looking to understand its applications and implications. The use of gamification as a tool for increased engagement is, without a doubt, going to be something I look forward to developing throughout my professional career, always keeping in mind the possible negative consequences to end users.

  1. Pingback: Making the “Game” a Game! | evolvedtech

Leave a Reply

